P3O® Qualification Scheme

The P3O Qualification Scheme has been developed by AXELOS Ltd to offer a tiered examination structure with two levels of qualification, Foundation and Practitioner.

AXELOS sets the quality expectations for the P3O qualifications and has accredit nine Examination Institutes (EIs) who are able accredit the network of Accredited Training Organizations including their trainers and course material to be able to offer P3O training courses and examinations.

PDF Download the P3O Syllabus (PDF).

There are two P3O qualifications, the Foundation and the Practitioner:

For the 2013 Edition

Foundation qualification

  • Multiple choice
  • 75 questions - 70 live questions and 5 trial
  • 60 minutes
  • 50% pass mark - 35 out of 70
  • Closed book

Practitioner Qualification

  • Objective testing
  • 4 questions of 20 marks each - 80 marks in total
  • 150 minutes
  • 50% pass mark - 40 out of 80
  • Open book - (only the P3O Guide is allowed).

For the 2008 Edition

Foundation Qualification

  • Multiple choice
  • 50 questions per paper with 1 mark available per question
  • 30 marks required to pass - 60%
  • 40 minutes duration
  • Closed book.

The Foundation qualification focuses on the concepts, structures and duties of a P3O.

Practitioner Qualification

  • Objective testing
  • 7 questions per paper, 70 marks available in total
  • 35 marks required to pass - 50%
  • Two-and-a-quarter hours duration
  • Open-book (only the P3O Guide is allowed).

How to take the Exam

There are two routes towards obtaining the P3O qualifications - you can sit the exams at the end of a training course, or study privately and then book the exam without a training course at one of the public examination access centres.

For details of training courses, please contact one of the P3O Accredited Training Organizations.

Route to Certification

Candidates must take the Foundation Exam before the Practitioner Exam, either on the same course or separately. If a candidate has previously passed the Foundation Exam, they qualify to sit the Practitioner Exam without needing to re-sit the Foundation.

If a candidate sits the Foundation Exam only, and passes, they will receive a "Foundation Examination" certificate stating that they have passed. However, if a candidate sits both the Foundation and Practitioner Exam on the same course, and passes both, they will receive a "Practitioner Examination" certificate, but not a "Foundation Examination" one.